Mary & Joseph Retreat Center

5300 Crest Road, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Main
(310) 377-4867
Fax
(310) 541-1176
Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed  Ext. 258 Email
Conference Coordinator
Marlene Velazquez  
Ext. 234Email
Hospitality Coordinator 

 


Upcoming Retreats, Programs & Events

Ongoing Programs ~ 2019:

Gratefulness Gatherings with Christine Sanchirico
One Thursday of each month in 2019 ~ 7-8:30 PM
Fourth Thursday of each month in 2019 (except July, Nov. & Dec. when it will be on the 3rd Thursday). Cost: Free will Donation
Women’s Spiritual Friendship Circle
Beginning Saturday, September 14, 2019, 10am-12pm
Second Saturday of each month through June 2020 
Centering Prayer Group  -  Greg Johnson & Herb Kaighan
Second & Fourth Wednesdays each month, 7:30 - 9pm
Dinner & A Movie  -  Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
*New date! ~ Thursday, Nov. 21, 2019 ~ The Nativity
Appetizers at 6pm; Dinner at 6:30pm; Movie at 7:30pm
Wednesday Readers Book Club       Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
2nd Wednesday of each month at 5:00 pm
Caregiver Support Group
First Tuesday of each month,  6pm to 7:30pm
Presented by the USC Family Caregiver Support Center in collaboration with Mary & Joseph Retreat Center.

Retreats & Programs ~ Fall 2019:

November:
Grace and Recovery   ~ John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
7:30pm Friday, November 1 to 1:30pm Sunday, November 3
 
How to Deal with Loss in Our Life ~ Jenny Ocegueda-Reynosa, MA
Saturday, November 9, 9am to 4pm
Sanctuary: Creating Spaces to Rest, Renew & Live
Rev. Terry Hershey

7:00pm Friday, November 22 to 1:30pm Sunday, November 24
December:
13th Annual Nativity Exhibit ~  Ellen Mintz
Friday, December 6 to Sunday, December 22, 2019
Advent Day of Prayer: Journeying with St. Joseph  
Laurie Wallace

Saturday, December 7, 9am to 3pm  
Victorian Christmas Tea & Carols
Sunday, December 8  *Tea 3pm; Concert 4pm 
Silent, Contemplative Retreat: Introduction to A Wisdom Way of Knowing: What the Christian Path Has to Offer 
H eather Ruce, SD, MA, SEP
7:00pm Friday, December 13 to 1:30pm Sunday, December 15

Retreats & Programs ~ Spring 2020:

January:
Drawing as a Way to Contemplate Creation ~ Sheila Chambers
Saturday, January 11, 1 to 4pm
Drumming and Mindfulness: Stress Management for Young Adults   
Lucia Galante Johnson, MS FHD        
Saturday, January 18, 10am to 4pm
Nine Enneagram Personality Styles   ~ Susan McNary, PhD
Saturday, January 25, 9am to 4pm
Journey Through Grief  ~ Sr. Laura Gormley, SSL
Saturday, January 25, 9am to 3pm
February:
Grief Support Group  ~ Grieving Gracefully: When less is not more
Call for dates & times
A Journey through World Beliefs      
Misty Jesse, PhD, DMin, Dir. of Evangelization, St. John Fisher
Saturday, February 8, 9am to 4pm
Valentine’s Day Couples Dinner & Celebration      
Rev. Jim Clarke, PhD, Director of Evangelization, LA Archdiocese
Friday, February 14,  5 to 9pm
Valentine Retreat for Couples        
Making it Real: Deepening the Spirituality of Your Marriage    
Rev. Jim Clarke, PhD, Director of Evangelization, LA Archdiocese
 
5:00pm Friday, February 14 to 1:30pm Sunday, February 16, 2020
A Gift of Wonder  ~ Christine Aroney-Sine M.D.
Saturday, February 15,  10am to 4pm
Let it Be: 12 Step Retreat for Women  ~ John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
7:00pm Friday, February 21 to 1:30pm Sunday, February 23, 2020
March:
A Celtic Christian Journey of the Heart
Crossing the Threshold Home ~
Deirdre Ni Chinneide
Sunday, March 1, 10am to 4pm
Beloved Lenten Journey  ~  Fr. Joe Miller, SVD; Esther Delao
Saturday, March 7,  9am to 3pm
5-Day Silent, Directed Retreat ~ Spiritual Directors:  Sr. Pascazia Kinkuhaire, DMJ; Sue Ballotti; Fr. Joseph Miller, SVD
6:30 pm Sunday, March 8 to 1:30 pm Friday, March 13, 2020
St. Patrick’s Day Celebration   
Sunday, March 15,  4:30 to 9:30pm
The Spiritual Dimensions of Healing Trauma
James Finley, PhD     *Remote, real-time silent retreat, via Zoom
Saturday March 21, 2020   10am to 4pm
12 Steps to Personal Transformation = Spiritual Awakening     
Herb Kaighan, Spiritual Direction 
Saturday, March 28, 1 to 5pm

April:

Healing the Wounded Soul                             
Pamela Davidson, PhD & Father Thomas Kelly (USAF Ret.) 
Saturday, April 4, 9am to 4pm
Easter Sunday Brunch  ~  Sunday, April 12,  10am to 12:30pm
Journeyman Presents: Along the Way            
Peter Hlavin, Songwriter, Visual Artist, Producer
Opening Sunday, April 19, 2 to 6pm; Art Exhibit, April 19-24 
The Way: The Art of the Pilgrimage  ~ Sue Ballotti, Labyrinth Facilitator
Friday, April 24, 6 to 9pm
Spring Moon: A Haiku Workshop  ~ Deborah P. Kolodji
Saturday, April 25,  9am to Noon
For The Good of the Family Legacy: A Workshop for Couples and Singles    
Dennis J. Branconier, MA
Saturday, April 25,  9am to 3pm
May:
A Day of Ignatian Prayer: Lingering with the Risen Jesus                
Paulette Cerutti, MA 
Saturday, May 2, 9am to 4pm
Praying with Beads  ~ Diane Wood, MA, CHC, FDN-P
Saturday, May 9, 9am to 12pm
Finding Peace within the Storm  ~ John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
Saturday, May 9, 9am to 4pm
Mother’s Day Champagne Brunch ~ Sunday, May 10, 10am to 12:30pm
June:
Along the Way: A Pilgrim Walk  ~ Sue Ballotti
Saturday, June 6, 7am to 1pm
Walking with Kindness through the Labyrinth: Journey to Self Care
Maggie Perrone RN, MA
Saturday, June 27,  9am to 4pm
August:                             Save the Date!
8-Day Silent, Guided Directed Retreat:
6:30pm Sunday, August 2 to 1:30pm Sunday, August 9, 2020

Retreat Directors: TBA
Mass ♪ Reception ♪ Concert ♪ Dinner
Sunday, August 16, 2020  4 to 8pm
Includes Handmade Quilt, Annual Opportunity Drawing 
If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to call Marlene Velazquez at (310) 377-4867 Ext. 234 or you can e-mail to Marlene .
Return to Homepage