Mary & Joseph Retreat Center

5300 Crest Road, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Main
(310) 377-4867
Fax
(310) 541-1176
Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed  Ext. 258 Email
Conference Coordinator
Marlene Velazquez  
Ext. 234Email
Hospitality Coordinator 


Upcoming Events for 2018

Ongoing Programs ~ Spring 2018:

Women’s Spiritual Friendship Circle ~ NEW!
Beginning Saturday, September 8, 2018 10am - Noon
Centering Prayer Group        Greg Johnson & Herb Kaighan
Second & Fourth Wednesdays each month, 7:30 - 9pm
Dinner & A Movie       Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
Thursday, August 9 and November 1, 2018
Appetizers at 6pm; Dinner at 6:30pm; Movie at 7:30pm
Peace & Comfort ~ The Art of the Quilt        Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
Class begin on Tuesday, September 18, 2018, 7-9pm
Wednesday Readers Book Club       Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
2nd Wednesday of each month at 5:00 pm
Spirituality Series 1-4:  “Finding God in Everyday Life” ~ NEW!
1. Let the Spirit Move You ~ Faith & Drum Circle     
Lucia Galante Johnson, MS, FHD   

Sunday, July 15, 2 to 4pm
2. Strengthening Your Faith Every Second of the Day Through Prayer    
 Laura Dieges Wilcox

Sunday, July 29, 2 to 4pm
3. What’s on My Plate?     Sr. Mary Mortz, DMJ
Sunday, August 19, 2 to 4pm
4. Praying the Rosary ~ A Catholic Spiritual Practice  
Sr. Mary Mortz, DMJ

Sunday, October 7, 2 to 4pm
July:
 Along the Way: A Pilgrim Walk  Sue Ballotti
Day: Saturday, July 7, 7:00am to 1:00pm
 
August:
8-Day Silent, Guided Directed Retreat             
6:30pm Sunday, July 29 to 1:30pm Sunday, August 5, 2018
Under the Stars ~ Annual Fundraiser
Dinner & Concert
Sunday, August 5, 5pm - 9pm
Poetry to Enrich and Resource the Spiritual Journey
Sr. Edith Prendergast, RSC; Ellie Hildalgo; John Flaherty & David Lara
Thursday, August 30, 6:30 to 9pm
September:
The Woman at the Well      Sr. Mary Mortz, DMJ

Saturday, September 15, 9am to 3pm
Al-Anon and the 12 Steps In Everyday  Life      
Peter F. McGoey, MA, LMFT

7:00pm Friday, September 21 to 1:30pm Sunday, September 23
“I need not be great. On the contrary, I must remain little.”
Fr. Pat Crowley, SSCC 
7:00pm Friday, September 21 to 1:30pm Sunday, September 23
Healing Presence in the Workplace
Pamela Davidson, PhD & Father Thomas Kelly (USAF Ret.)
Saturday, September 29, 9am to 4pm
October:
Ordinary Mysticism: Ignatian Prayer for All

Randy Roche, SJ, Dir. Center for Ignatian Spirituality, LMU
Saturday, October 6, 9am to 3pm
From Creation to New Creation: A Journey of Transformation      
Stephen Coffey, OSB, Cam

Saturday, October 13, 9am to 3pm
Centering Prayer: An Introduction and An Experience      
Herb Kaighan

Saturday, October 20, 1 to 5pm
November:
Journeying in Grief Through the Holidays   Laura Gormley, SSL

Saturday, November 3, 9am to 3pm   
Practicing Presence: Journeying  Inward Through the Labyrinth 
*A Veriditas Qualifying Workshop* Maggie Perrone, RN, MA
Saturday, November 10, 9am 3pm  
Advent: God Comes! Comes! Ever Comes!  Sr. Edith Prendergast, RSC
Saturday, November 17, 9am to 3pm  
(Relieve Me of) The Bondage of Self      John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
7:30pm Friday, November 30 to 1:30pm Sunday, December 2
December:
In The Footsteps of St. Thérèse: How To Be Single But Not Alone    
Teresita “Terri” Ong

Saturday, December 1, 9am to 3pm  
Victorian Christmas Tea & Carols
Sunday, December 2  Tea 2pm; Concert 3pm 
12 th Annual Nativity Exhibit: A Christmas Star     Ellen Mintz
Sunday, December 2 to Friday, December 21
A Silent, Contemplative Advent Retreat with James Finley, PhD  
Childlike Acceptance: Learning to Listen and Cultivating a Compassionate Heart as Three Paths to Heaven 
7:00pm Friday, December 7 to 1:30pm Sunday, December 9
Las Posadas    Marlene Velazquez
Domingo 16 de Diciembre,  4:00 to 6:00pm
Sunday, December 16, 4:00 to 6:00pm
If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to call Marlene Velazquez at (310) 377-4867 Ext. 234 or you can e-mail to Marlene .
Return to Homepage